Jordan Rudess Announces New Solo Album "Permission To Fly"

Jordan Rudess Announces New Solo Album “Permission To Fly”

Dream Theater keyboardist Jordan Rudess is set to release his latest solo album, “Permission To Fly,” on September 6, 2024, via InsideOutMusic. Renowned for his innovative approach and pushing creative, sonic, and technological boundaries, Rudess’s newest endeavor delves into the complexities of human existence within our multifaceted world.

An Album Born from Tumultuous Times
Jordan Rudess explains, “The essence of the album is deeply informed by the tumultuous events of 2023-2024, with motifs of peace and anti-violence woven throughout many of the songs.” This reflective and thematic approach is evident in the album’s content and the collaborative process behind it.

To mark the announcement, Rudess has launched the epic new track “The Alchemist,” accompanied by a video directed by Wayne Joyner. (The video can be found at the bottom of this page).

Collaborations and Creative Process
Unlike some of his previous solo endeavors, Rudess assembled a core group of musicians for “Permission To Fly” to support and elevate his vision. The album features:

That Joe Payne on vocals
Darby Todd (Devin Townsend) on drums
Steve Dadaian on guitar
Guest guitar solos by Bastian Martinez

To ensure the lyrics resonated deeply, Rudess collaborated with his daughter, Ariana, who wrote all the lyrics on the album. “While I enjoy writing lyrics myself, my primary focus tends to be on the sonic quality of the words. For this album, I wanted to delve deeper and offer something that resonated on a more profound and cerebral level. Ari did an exceptional job,” he shared.

Album Details and Tracklist
“Permission To Fly” will be available in various formats, including Limited CD Digipak, Gatefold 180g 2LP (both including bonus material), and digitally. Pre-order your copy here.


The Final Threshold – 04:08
Into The Lair – 09:31
Haunted Reverie – 05:14
The Alchemist – 08:36
Embers – 04:03
Shadow of the Moon – 05:29
Eternal – 08:53
Footstep in the Snow – 04:02
Dreamer – 05:03
Incarnation (Bonus Track) – 03:31
Chopin Fm (Bonus Track) – 05:33
Listen to the previously released track “Embers” here.

Live Performances and Future Tours
Jordan recently made his live debut with Darby Todd and That Joe Payne on the 2024 edition of Cruise To The Edge, where they premiered the new single “Embers” to enthusiastic acclaim.

Jordan Rudess, hailed as the “Best Keyboardist of All Time” by Music Radar Magazine, is a multi-instrumentalist best known for his work with the platinum-selling, Grammy Award-winning progressive rock band, Dream Theater. Starting his musical journey as a classical prodigy at Juilliard School of Music at the age of 9, Rudess has seamlessly blended classical and rock influences throughout his career.

Dream Theater Albums Featuring Jordan Rudess:
Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory (1999)
Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (2002)
Train of Thought (2003)
Octavarium (2005)
Systematic Chaos (2007)
Black Clouds & Silver Linings (2009)
A Dramatic Turn of Events (2011)
Dream Theater (2013)
The Astonishing (2016)
Distance Over Time (2019)
A View from the Top of the World (2021)
Jordan Rudess Solo Discography:
Listen (1993)
Secrets of the Muse (1997)
Feeding the Wheel (2001)
4NYC (2002)
Rhythm of Time (2004)
The Road Home (2007)
Notes on a Dream (2009)
Explorations (2014)
Wired for Madness (2019)
A Chapter in Time (2021)

Innovator in Music Technology
Beyond his musical collaborations, Jordan Rudess is a pioneer in music technology, owning the successful iOS app development company Wizdom Music. His apps, such as GeoShred, MorphWiz, and SampleWiz, have won numerous awards and are widely used in the music industry. Currently, he is working on an AI interactive project as a Visiting Artist at MIT’s Media Lab in the Responsive Environments group.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x