The Davey Johnstone Band : Deeper Than My Roots : 2021

The Davey Johnstone Band : Deeper Than My Roots : 2021

Watch the video above for the full review

Elton Johns guitarist steps into the limelight with a really enjoyable album.
This is a real family affair with all of the Johnstone clan taking part. Elliot Johnstone is Davey’s youngest son (16) and supplies the lead vocals to most of the tracks.

Davey Johnstone has been in Eton’s band for 50 years. He first appeared on the album Madman Across The Water. He has also played with Stevie Nicks, Meat Loaf, Joan Armatrading, Alice Cooper and many others,

The guitar playing hangs in the air with reverb-drenched lines that just make you smile. The playing on Walt Dizney and especially Deeper is just perfect. The solo at the end of Deeper could have gone on for another 5 minutes and I would not have noticed.

Other highlights are ‘The Boxer in The Corner’ and the really groovy instrumental ‘Black Scotland’

The lineup on many of the tracks is

  • Elliot Johnstone Vocals
  • Charlie Johnstone Keyboards/vocals
  • Jesse Johnstone Drums
  • Davey Johnstone Guitars, Bass and Vocals

Bob Birch plays bass with guest drummers Denny Seiwell and Vanessa Bryan sings on the final track ‘All The Time in The World’.

Track Listing:

1. Go Easy On My Heart
2. One Look In Your Eyes
3. Meh Amour
4. Walt Dizney
5. Melting Snow
6. You Lied To Me
7. Deeper
8. Boxer In The Corner
9. Black Scotland
10. The Final Quarter
Bonus Tracks
11 Here, There And Everywhere
12 All the Time In the World

The album artwork was designed and created by Davey Johnstones daughter Juliet.

Phil Aston | Now Spinning Magazine


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x